January EVE Blog Banter

Welcome to the fourth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by Crazy Kinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed here. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

This month’s EVE Blog Banter comes to us from Manasi of A Mule in EvE. Manasi asks “How do we, EVE bloggers, adapt to changes as they are thrust upon us (speed changes, no more ghost training, all the Dev blogs, etc), or as our lives make playing the game different (more time, less time)?”

Venom’s Thoughts:

Like many other’s, I am too new to have fully realized a “nerf” or change.  Although, as I’ve said in several comments to other’s posts, changes are what I like.  To fully anticipate what is going to happen, is not a challenge, we often can get stuck in ruts, usually because we spent three months training for a specific setup.  I like change, it’s what I manage on a personal level, it’s what makes companies grow to great heights.  

Yet having said that, I’ve never lost my bread ‘n butter stealth bomber function or my ability to use a MWD.  I might become irritated if I had but my nature is to go with the flow, use change to become better.  In the case of EVE, I use change as as a way to stay fresh in the game.  Which reminds me of other ways I stay fresh in gaming, often after beating an XBOX or PS3 game, I’ll go back and add some more challenge.  Like completing Rainbow 6, on the insane level, with just handguns.  So yea, change I dig.

But because change ruins so many people’s days, let’s remember what Buddha might say: “Change is inevitable, is it really change that is causing you such suffering?”.  Now, ponder that for a while, then come back and I’ll make you sit in lotus position for like 8 hours, only then will we have another conversation, which will go like this:

You, “Hello Master Venom, I have sat for hours pondering change”

Venom, “Yes, and what have you figured out”

You, “Well that my legs hurt, my mind won’t stop jumping around from the grocery list to how much I really want to play EVE vs. sit in meditation”

Venom: “What did you gather from this then?”

You, “Well, my mind jumps around a lot, and it’s not very kind while doing so, oh and my legs stopped hurting after a while, mostly due to falling asleep”

Venom, “Ahh see, all things pass, even the pain in your leg, that change was inevitable, yet for the future, feel free to move your legs, they do not need to fall sleep to gain enlightenment.  What’s more important than the fact that change is inevitable, is that you found the root of your suffering…..your mind”

You, “Damnit!!!!” 

-Venom

Participants:

About this entry